about the determination of the transition state

Vasp transition state theory tools

Moderator: moderators

Math.Dav

about the determination of the transition state

Post by Math.Dav »

Hello everyone,

I am a beginner user of VTST. I'm looking for TS of interstitial in fcc systems.
To determine in one simulation the migration energy and the transition state I used vasp compiled with vtst.
I used 2 optimizers FIRE and LBFGS. Both simulations converged to the minimization criterions specified (EDIFF=1e-5 and EDIFFG=-1E-2)
By plotting the MEP, the image with the highest energy was the TS.
But when I wanted to determine the Gvib (using phonopy) of the TS (to get the attempt frequency (..exp(-(Gvib(TS)-Gvib(ini))/kT)) I also plot the phonon band structure.
The problem is that the band-structure has not the characteristic of a TS (I had 2 imaginaries modes or zero imaginary mode).
You can find attached as support 2 plots and the NEB using FIRE optimizer for N diffusiong between tetra and M site in fcc.

So, here my questions :
Can vtst can failed to determine the TS when the path has some symmetries characteristics ?
Could it be that the NEB are not enough converged ? (EDIFFG = -1E-3 ?)

Maybe I could use improved dimer method or lanczos ? But I didn't find any practical examples in crystal so I not really sure how I should proceed.

Any suggestion are welcome, I'm quite stuck with it.
Attachments
NEB_N_tM.tar.gz
(32.33 MiB) Downloaded 1072 times
band_dos.pdf
band-structure of C at TS between octa and M in a fcc crystal
(362.17 KiB) Downloaded 770 times
band_dos.pdf
band-structure of N at TS between tetra and site M a fcc crystal
(362.26 KiB) Downloaded 732 times
graeme
Site Admin

Re: about the determination of the transition state

Post by graeme »

I do have a few suggestions. But first, it's good to see that you were able to converge to a saddle. I think that with some tweaking you will be able to calculate reliable phonons as well.