Convergence issue with cation migration in bulk tio2

Vasp transition state theory tools

Moderator: moderators

ipcxj1

Convergence issue with cation migration in bulk tio2

Post by ipcxj1 »

Dear Prof. Henkelman,

I am new to using CINEB calculations. I am trying to study the pathway of Ti atom from 1 site to the adjacent interstitial site in Ti73O143. (The original structure is supercell composed of 3*3*2 anatase tio2 . I have created 1 O vacancy and relaxed the structure. IS was also relaxed with the same INCAR). In the past few weeks, I have read most of the posts about speeding up convergence (using conservative optimizer of iopt=3, cheap setup). But I failed and I don't know why.

I noticed that you mentioned the problem of image translation. I checked my images and nothing seems to be happening. Can you please confirm it for me? Also, I noticed your comment about freezing an atom for slab model, but not for the bulk materials. Therefore, I would like to ask you to confirm whether this method is suitable for the bulk materials. Although I have tried frozen an atom, it still failed to converge.

Another question, when constructing the bulk model with a vacancy, is there a difference between the O vacancy constructed in the center of the supercell and the area near the surface of the supercell?

Could you please help me understand why this is happening and what I must do to correct this ? I have attached the files here.

Thanks for your help and support.

Jing Xia
Attachments
vacancy_cineb.rar
(40.08 MiB) Downloaded 327 times
graeme
Site Admin

Re: Convergence issue with cation migration in bulk tio2

Post by graeme »

These calculations are generally looking ok. I have just a few suggestions:

1. relax the cell without a vacancy (ISIF=3) and then leave the cell fixed for your IS and FS optimizations (ISIF=2) so that the cell does not change over the NEB.